top of page
Dog wearing Costume

REPORT
BACKYARD
BREEDERS

It is illegal to breed dogs without a license in Los Angeles County, yet so many backyard breeders are, and this is contributing to the overpopulation crisis. We need help identifying these people! You can help by anonymously reporting backyard breeders in and around Los Angeles communities.

Report

How do I know if someone is a backyard breeder?

Some RED flags include: 

  • They’re advertising on Craigslist or social media and do not have an official website 

  • They’re selling puppies in a box/wagon/container on the street

  • They may post flyers around town or on bulletin boards in retail stores

  • They won’t let you meet the parents

  • They aren’t sure what breed of dog they’re selling

  • They have no backup plan. Ask them what happens if an adopter can’t keep a dog. Will they take it back to ensure it does not end up in a shelter?

  • The puppies are under 8 weeks old. Puppies need to stay with their mother for a minimum of 8 weeks to develop properly and learn critical dog skills. Puppies separated from their mom before 8 weeks are susceptible to behavioral and health issues.

WHAT YOU CAN DO

For Long Beach, call:  (562) 570-7387

 

For LA County:  

 

If the address of the violation is known, please report to our communications center with this link https://animalcare.lacounty.gov/service-request/ 

 

If jurisdiction is known, the direct email for each ACC and assigned manager are here:

Agoura: 

agoura@animalcare.lacounty.gov 

Manger Denise Rosen 

drosen@animalcare.lacounty.gov


Baldwin Park: 

baldwinpark@animalcare.lacounty.gov 

Manager Javier Gutierrez

jgutierrez@animalcare.lacounty.gov


Carson: 

carson@animalcare.lacounty.gov 

Manager Justin Guzman

jguzman@animalcare.lacounty.gov

Castaic: 

castaic@animalcare.lacounty.gov 

Manager Fred Agoopi 

fagoopi@animalcare.lacounty.gov

Downey: 

downeyctaip@animalcare.lacounty.gov 

Manager Joseph Navarrete

jnavarrete@animalcare.lacounty.gov  

 

Lancaster: 

acclancaster@animalcare.lacounty.gov 

Manager Daniel Dibene 

ddibene@animalcare.lacounty.gov


Palmdale: 

palmdale@animalcare.lacounty.gov 

Manager Chris Cirar 

ccirar@animalcare.lacounty.gov

 

Three French Bullgod Puppies

ACT NOW!

bottom of page